Week 10 – Web Analytics

  1. Once again this week I have decided to orient myself within the topic of web analytics by beginning with the viewing of a few videos explaining what, exactly, web analytics is. After spending a bit of time watching a few, I decided that this one was most effective in quickly summing up what analytics is all about. I also found the graphics included to be quite useful, and would suggest this video for anyone who is still confused by the topic!
  2. Tying in neatly with this week’s lesson, our tutorial was to create an infographic compiling data collected from Avinash Kaushik’s blog, which details ways in which professionals can best put web analytics to use. This particular article, titled Best Social Media Metrics, was very interesting in that it communicated ways of maximizing the impact of social networks in the business world. As you can see in the image I have created, the blog post is successfully in approaching the topic from various angles and providing the reading with much insight into the benefit of each tactic. I chose this one because it discusses social networks, which is of great relevance to me as I am in fact the social media lead for the Image Arts Union. In the future, I plan to consider these factors when posting on behalf on the union.
  3. While were only to choose one article on which to base our infographic, I learned quit a lot browsing the many posts in search of one I thought could be easily converted to a visual piece. This post was highly interesting in that it seemed to be a comprehensive analysis of web content. Some of the articles I found on Kaushik’s site I found to be daunting, or too jargon-filled and/or technical to understand. This one, however, was successful in that it seemed to be more of a comprehensive analysis of online content. The article documents the strengths of seven company’s website and points out what makes them successful. I took an interest in this as it serves as a more humanized form of web analytics and clearly outlines the benefits of many different features.
  4. Lastly, I chose to attempt to experience web analytics on a personal level. While I do not currently have a business of any sort set up online, I can appreciate how it one day may be valuable for me to be able to analyze how a site of mine is doing. As I have a fairly decent following on Tumblr, I thought it might be interesting to have this site analyzed. It was easy enough to find a website that did so. In fact, all I had to do was Google my Tumblr user name and an analysis popped up. Though it may not be the most comprehensive look into the stats of my blog, it was interesting to note (particularly that if I am ever hard up for cash, I can apparently earn as much as forty-two US dollars!). Perhaps one day I will be able to make use of this tool on a more significant level!
  5. While it is obvious that many large companies benefit from complex site analyses, my Storify post this week seems to have approached things on a smaller, more individual level. Perhaps this is fitting as I am a student and not a corporate giant. I suppose this was my motivation for focusing on web analysis on a smaller scale, such as documenting social network feedback and human analysis. As fellow students, do you believe that at this point in time there is much benefit to completing a web analysis of your own website, or do you seem to be more swayed by more instant gratification, such as the number of likes and favourites you receive? Do you believe that applause on social networks provide an accurate indication into the value of online content? Let me know what you think!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment